Spectrum next Mini – updates – almost there!

Have done a good amount this past week – Finally received the 2mm pitch ribbon cables so decided to test the boards……

…Aaand, something wasn’t correct – lots of keys jumbled up.

So, had to spend an hour or two diagnosing!…and to do that I knocked up a quick spreadsheet to cross reference. I had a similar problem with my C64 Mini, so suspected it was simple ‘swapped pins’ – But was worried as to how I goofed it up….

TESTEDSHOULD BEACTUALLY IS
KEYBNEXTROWCOLROWCOL
INV
TRUE
151115
241214
313
421412
511511
604541
794442
843
974244
064145
DELDEL
GRPH
QT2125
WR2224
E23
RW2422
TQ2521
YP5551
UO5452
I53
OU5254
PY5155
ENTH7175
EXT
EDIT
AG3135
SF3234
D33
FS3432
GA3531
H75
JL7472
K73
LJ7274
ZC6264
X63
CZ6462
BSPACE6581
N84
M83
CAPSV61
SYMBNEXT
;,56
.57
LEFTLEFT8686
RIGHTRIGHT7777
SPCB8165
DOWNDOWN87
UPMENU
Can you see the problem!

Turns out that one of the schematics I’d used had Columns 4 & 2 swapped. AND Columns 1&5…

Which should have been obvious from just testing keys 1-5 (as they’re on the same columns as numbered!)….at least i’ll know when testing other keyboards!

Easy fix – i’ll just cut the ribbon cables for the prototypes, and correct the schematics.

anyways, onto the pics!

Silky smooth, straight off the printer!

Many prototypes later - this one had too many supports….

Needs some tweaks to the cleaning methodology!

The keyboard in black above looks a little ‘yucky’ – I’m not too worried about that as I fixed the sticky residue / inconsistent cleaning issue long ago with the C64Mini, no need to spend ages (and lots of IPA) at this prototype stage. I’m more worried about the subtle difference / decrease in legibility of the lettering from right to left, I’m hoping it’s a simple bed levelling ‘thing’, or I may be approaching the limits of what this printer can do.

I use Lychee Slicer to slice the keycaps – BUT, there’s no real easy way of iterating designs like this, would be nice if there were a ‘grid’ command to add supports, or a ‘copy / paste’ command if you’ve tens of identical keys.

Lychee supports! – soooo many supports that take soooo much time!

After iteration 4 of printing, I had a brainwave! – why not just add supports directly in the CAD

Supports directly in CAD

Soooo many supports! – BUT, copy/paste dozens of times….

The result………an almost perfect support removal!

Nearly perfect supports removal!

There’s been significant tweaking to the keycaps and a quite significant breakthrough that really makes manufacturing these keyboards easier, and, ironically, totally fixes the problem I had with the Amiga wonky keys.

I know i’m slow on the A500 Mini and C64 Mini keyboards…BUT as always, if you’re struggling to crack a problem, the best way is to step back for a bit. I can fix so much more stuff on the other keyboard designs now!

Will update more on the design process another time, too busy tweaking!

Author: Bleugh

MID Fourties, Wife, two kids in primary school. Both of us work full time...Enjoying the sunshine an hour's drive north of Sydney (Australia)

Leave a comment