Dodgy Laptop Hinges – Lenovo Ideapad 5 15″Model 15ARE05

Nearly two years ago, I purchased a rather nice laptop – https://www.lenovo.com/gb/en/laptops/ideapad/500-series/IdeaPad-5-15ARE05/p/88IPS501393

A Nice Lenovo 15″ beastie, with a Ryzen 4800U

I blogged a bit about it right – HERE

Just after Christmas, one of the screen hinges snapped – I had a quick google, then really did nothing – I found thhis bloke –

It’s Binh Repaired & Reviewed

and, this video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQ3YShJosio

and, as the laptop was functioning ok-ish, I dismissed it – it was robust enough to use, and wasn’t properly broken….

…Until it was – (properly broke

A couple of weeks ago, both hinges just failed, leaving my laptop screen ‘dangling’

So, I googled again, discovered that I’m not alone. Most people seem to jab a bit of JBweld in and hope for the best

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/General-Discussion/Broken-Hinge-on-IdeaPad-5-15IIL05-Laptop-Type-81YK/m-p/5063546?page=4

https://www.bogleheads.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=369644

I didn’t have any JBweld.

I Did however have the following items, which, after years of desperately needing a project to justify the purchase have Finally come in useful and saved some cash

Ingredients

……. a Portable Dremel thingy,

a wide collection of tiny drill bits

boxes of tiny screws and nuts.

A ridiculously small adjustable spanner on my car keys

Now My laptop no longer has a non-functional Hinge

Have a small Montage of pictures

To Be fair to Lenevo – they’re extremely responsive for customer support. I can not fault their technical team, nor their customer support team, pro-active calls, checkups and emails, all in, a 5* Lenovo response…..

with one caveat, My laptop’s out of warranty. Still, for most, a quick hundred quid ain’t too bad a price to fix a £500 laptop properly!

Author: Bleugh

MID Fourties, Wife, two kids in primary school. Both of us work full time...Enjoying the sunshine an hour's drive north of Sydney (Australia)

One thought on “Dodgy Laptop Hinges – Lenovo Ideapad 5 15″Model 15ARE05”

  1. Wow, what a lifesaver! 😱🙌 This blog post came at just the right time for me. My Lenovo Ideapad 5 15 has been giving me some trouble with its hinges, and reading about someone else’s experience and solution is incredibly reassuring. 💻🛠️ The detailed steps and tips provided here are super helpful, and I’m definitely going to try them out to see if I can fix my laptop too. 🤞 Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge and helping out fellow laptop users like me! 🌟 Keep up the great work! 🙏😊

    Like

Leave a comment