Revisiting the 3020 CNC & General musings

Been a few months of non-tinkering really, Just had a heck of a time getting anything useful printing in the D9………..Finally solved that issue – combination of badly cut PTFE tube and poorly machined throat caused major under extrusion and, well, that combined with two kids, a wife working away often meant zero time to actually tinker……

Anyways, in that ‘why the hell shouldn’t I go buy something that ‘just works’..’

I saw the Snapmaker 2 on kickstarter and got the old braincells working,

I have at home currently several devices that are taking a bunch of space

So after seeing the kickstarter I Decided to try to sell the 3020 on Facebook marketplace 

After several dozen people “interested” and several hundred messages, I now fear for the future of the human race having any semblance of collective intelligence  and have decided to keep the 3020T

Revisiting my earlier adventures, The CNC, being a parallel port version won’t run on windows 10, nor will that little dongle thingy I purchased

So, I purchased a new little dongle thingy –

It’s a rather clever little GRBL shield Which doesn’t have any Driver chips bulit in! it just wiggles the relevant data lines of the DB25 port in the back of the CNC controller…..

It’s alive again!……now back to the fun of calibration and figuring just how to use it, whilst allocating my decreasing waking hours to having fun tinkering…….

Ramble over,

Author: Bleugh

MID Fourties, Wife, two kids in primary school. Both of us work full time...Enjoying the sunshine an hour's drive north of Sydney (Australia)

Leave a comment